Silver Slugger Award Winners Announced: Cubs Jake Arrieta and Anthony Rizzo Both Win

Each year the Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Awards are presented to players that are voted on by coaches and managers to represent the best offensive producers at each position in both the National and American leagues. For the Chicago Cubs, it’s been five long years since they’ve had a player win the award. That last player to win the award as a member of the Cubs was Aramis Ramirez in 2011.

This year both Jake Arrieta and Anthony Rizzo have been awarded Silver Slugger Awards. It’s two more awards for the Cubs who’ve already won two gold gloves – Anthony Rizzo and Jason Heyward both won those on Tuesday – and a Player’s Choice Award that was won by Kyle Hendricks on Wednesday.

Jake Arrieta posted a slash line of .262/.304/.415 with 2 home runs while leading all pitchers with a 91 wRC+. Of course, that doesn’t include the 3-run home run he bashed against the San Francisco Giants in the NLDS. Jake was a monster at the plate in 2016, bottom line.

Anthony Rizzo slashed .292/.385/.544 with 32 home runs and a 145 wRC+, ranking second among NL first basemen behind the Atlanta Braves Freddie Freeman.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

American League:

Catcher – Salvador Perez, Royals
First base – Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
Second base – Jose Altuve, Astros
Third base – Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays
Shortstop – Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox
Outfield – Mookie Betts, Red Sox
Outfield – Mike Trout, Angels
Outfield – Mark Trumbo, Orioles
Designated hitter – David Ortiz, Red Sox

National League:

Catcher –  Wilson Ramos, Nationals
First base – Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
Second base – Daniel Murphy, Nationals
Third base – Nolan Arenado, Rockies
Shortstop – Corey Seager, Dodgers
Outfield – Charlie Blackmon, Rockies
Outfield – Yoenis Cespedes, Mets
Outfield – Christian Yelich, Marlins
Pitcher – Jake Arrieta, Cubs

Back to top button