Cubs Announce 24 Non-Roster Spring Training Invitees

The Cubs announced Friday that 24 non-roster players (14 pitchers, five infielders, three outfielders, and two catchers) have been invited to Spring Training.

In case the print in the tweet is too hard to read, the pitchers are: Adury Acevedo, Maikel Cleto, Daniel Corcino, James Farris, Seth Frankoff, Jim Henderson, Casey Kelly, Jhondaniel Medina, Conor Mullee, Fernando Rodriguez, and Ryan Williams (all righties), along with southpaws Gerardo Concepcion, Manny Parra, and Zac Rosscup.

The infielders are Chris Dominguez, Ian Happ, Munenori Kawasaki, Jemile Weeks, and Chesny Young. They’ll be joined by outfielders John Andreoli, Eloy Jimenez, and Mark Zagunis and catchers Carlos Corporan and Taylor Davis.

There’s not a whole lot in that group of arms to be excited about, but the list of infielders and outfields is straight fire. Guys like Happ and Jimenez are going to be fun to watch, though this is really more about giving them a small taste of the big leagues and letting them learn from the guys who’ve been there and done that.

Less than three weeks now, folks.

Back to top button