IBWAA Selects Vladimir Guerrero, Ivan Rodriguez in 2017 HOF Vote

The individual ballots weren’t subject to quite the same public excoriation as those of our BBWAA brethren and these results hold no sway over the gates of Cooperstown, but the IBWAA Hall of Fame voting is a fun exercise nonetheless. I think it may also serve a bellwether of sorts when it comes to how the “actual” baseball writers’ vote will trend in the near future. As attrition and addition continue to change the makeup of that voting body, we may see more progressive views take hold.

Or maybe we won’t, who knows. Anyway, the results of the IBWAA vote are below, preceded by the press release that explains a little bit about the process and why you don’t see a couple other names in the headline.

Los Angeles – In its eighth annual Hall of Fame election, the IBWAA selected Vladimir Guerrero and Ivan Rodriguez, both with 84.54% of the vote (175 votes). A 75% threshold is required for election.

Mike Mussina came up one vote short, finishing in third place with 74.88%, followed by Trevor Hoffman (73.91%), Barry Bonds (73.43%) and Roger Clemens (71.50%). There are 470 members in the IBWAA; 208 voted in this election.

Jeff Bagwell (2015), Edgar Martinez (2016) and Tim Raines (2015) did not appear on the 2017 IBWAA Hall of Fame ballot because they have already been honored in previous IBWAA elections. 

With those exceptions, the IBWAA ballot was identical to the one used by the BBWAA. All voting is done electronically.

Per a group decision in January, 2014, the IBWAA allows members to vote for up to 15 players, instead of the previous 10, beginning with the 2015 election. In the 2017 election, 92 members voted for 10 or more candidates. Seventeen members voted for 15 candidates. The average vote per member was 8.94.

Complete voting results are as follows:

Player Name Votes Percentage
Iván Rodríguez 175 84.54%
Vladimir Guerrero 175 84.54%
Mike Mussina 155 74.88%
Trevor Hoffman 153 73.91%
Barry Bonds 152 73.43%
Roger Clemens 148 71.50%
Curt Schilling 120 57.97%
Larry Walker 117 56.52%
Manny Ramírez 109 52.66%
Gary Sheffield 91 43.96%
Fred McGriff 85 41.06%
Billy Wagner 84 40.58%
Jeff Kent 80 38.65%
Sammy Sosa 68 32.85%
Lee Smith 65 31.40%
Jorge Posada 32 15.46%
Tim Wakefield 8 3.86%
Jason Varitek 7 3.38%
Matt Stairs 6 2.90%
Magglio Ordóñez 5 2.42%
Edgar Rentería 4 1.93%
Arthur Rhodes 2 0.97%
Derrek Lee 2 0.97%
J.D. Drew 2 0.97%
Pat Burrell 2 0.97%
Casey Blake 1 0.48%
Melvin Mora 1 0.48%
Mike Cameron 1 0.48%
Carlos Guillén 0 0.00%
Freddy Sánchez 0 0.00%
Orlando Cabrera 0 0.00%
Back to top button